In the summer of 2016, I decided to do a couple Facebook posts to encourage my friends to look into mentoring opportunities in their local communities. The response to those posts in what led me to start this blog. My journey into mentoring began in 2010 when I started a program called Get Connected, in conjunction with our local United Way. Since that time,  I have walked alongside many amazing young people, including some trying to navigate a path out of generational poverty. My Get Connected program, which runs out of our local United Way, focuses on helping high school students and young adults learn about job and career opportunities, build mentoring relationships, get on a supported pathway to success, and become more connected to positive things going on in our community. We aren’t where I want to be yet, but we are making progress.The mentors in my program often comment about the things they learn from the students they mentor. For me, every day is a learning experience. I have formed great friendships with people in my community who I would have never gotten to know had I not embarked on this journey. My goal is to use this blog to share the insights I have learned from my mentees and my friends, and how they tie into issues faced by our country and our world. The opinions I share in this blog are mine alone. I welcome your responses and your feedback.

 

